2NE1 Finally Debuts on Stage

2NE1 had their first stage performance on Inkigayo (May 17th, 2009 – SuJu and 2PM also performed).  I can’t say that I was expecting much from their stage debut, but now I’m actually somewhat impressed.

Their intro was ingenious, I still can’t get over it.  Whoever came up with that whole elevator idea with their final destination being the 21st floor is brilliant.  The unique introductions to every member were awesome too.  Their stage performance… well, let’s just say I was expecting something more.  I can’t complain all that much, since I still loved it.  I attribute their “lack” of performance to them being one handed (they had to hold mics with the other hand).  At least their stage performance depicted them as more “human”, real, and reachable rather than their surreal appearance in their Fire MV (both versions).

Well, I guess we can’t judge them yet based on one performance.  They will release more songs and do a variety of performances (hopefully, with better choreography and less booty shaking?).  At this point, I don’t see how 2NE1 is like the “female version” of Big Bang.  I suppose I was expecting this group to be filled with members that were cool, badass tomboys (that are also very pretty and don’t worry about stereotypical girly things – just writing this makes me realize how unrealistic my expectations seemed).  As I see it, they are more and more like other female kpop groups.  The only thing different is that they dress in Big Bang like fashion and CL raps a bit.  I’m sure the other members can rap too, I just hope to see/hear it, but for that to happen, we have to wait for their new releases.  They’ve been training for 4 years, I’m positive there must be more to them.  They definitely have the potential.

~ by misunderst0od on May 19, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
