Il Mare

  • Title: Il Mare
  • Alternative Title: Siwolae, Siwora, The Sea
  • Genre: Melodrama, Romance, Sci-Fi
  • Cast: Gianna Jun, Jung-Jae Lee

This film tells the tale of a man who moves into a seaside house, dubbing the house “Il Mare” (‘The Sea’ in Italian).  He receives a letter congratulating him on moving into the house from a person who claims she previously lived in the house.  However, this causes some confusion because the house is brand new and he is the first occupant.  It turns out she is writing to him two years from the future (1999).  The two end up exchanging letters and become friends, cheering each other in times of need.

I am in love with this movie.  It was so creative and so awesome I can hardly think of decent adjectives to describe it.  The film may have progressed slowly at some points, but it did not seem to bother me much.  The acting was excellent and so was the cinematography.  It showed camera angles from different perspectives.  It was so adorable.  The only thing that may have upset me was the ending, but I’ll get over it.  For once, I found myself yearning for a cliché ending.  The film’s actual ending is pretty satisfying and cute as well though.  If you think you can predict the ending of this movie, good luck.  It had me fooled at the end and I consider myself good at predicting stuff.  I definitely recommend others to watch this film.

My Rating: (4/5)

~ by misunderst0od on December 21, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
