Assorted Gems

My decision to watch this drama was probably the worst decision of the week, not because it was horrible or anything.  It just so happened that I had finals this week, but I was so addicted with this series that I couldn’t stop watching it to get any studying done.

I can’t say I loved the plot all that much, but I loved most of the characters.  They were just so amusing that they made the show all that awesome.  Not to mention there were some amazing actors in this series.  They may not be well known, but they should receive recognition for their amazing acting skills.  Major props to Michael Blunck for playing one of my favorite characters in this series (Kyle Huntington).  His acting cracked me up.  He probably played one of the best “foreigners” in a kdrama that I’ve ever seen.  If you watch it, you’ll see why.  There is clearly a difference between him and other foreign actors.

There were a lot of parts in this series that I could pick at and make fun of.  For example, the goody two shoes couple, who were also the main couple, were unbelievably corny.  Every girl got  pregnant very shortly after they married, which got me thinking. “Damn, they sure don’t waste any time.”   However, I brushed all these things off after acknowledging that this is a kdrama after all.  Things are supposed to be corny.

Things got a bit rushed and choppy toward the end.  The drama would skip ahead a couple months without telling you how much time went by.  It made things very confusing.  Also, I felt like many of the scenes and dialogue were a bit longer then they needed to be.  I’m totally guilty of getting bored with some scenes and skipping ahead.  I don’t regret doing it though.  Some scenes were just too damn long.

Do I regret watching this drama?  Absolutely not.  It put a smile on my face, cracked me up, and most importantly made me happy.  It was totally worth watching it even though I got addicted.

  • Title: Assorted Gems / Bosuk Bibimbap / 보석비빔밥
  • Genre: Romance, family
  • Episodes: 50
  • Broadcast network: MBC
  • Synopsis: The four siblings in the Gung family were named after precious jewels: eldest daughter Bi Chwi (Jade), eldest son San Ho (Coral), second daughter Ryu Bi (Ruby), and the youngest son, Ho Bak (Amber). Like an assortment of beautiful gems, their colours may clash and their sharp edges chip away at each other. Using an analogy of a bowl of rice with assorted ingredients to illustrate the workings of a family, the key to a great dish is using the right balance of ingredients in order to create a good mixture. Assorted Gems tells the story of the different lives of the family members and how they learn from their clashes to find the perfect balance.Dramawiki

My Rating: (3.5/5)

Credits: Dramawiki

~ by misunderst0od on May 13, 2010.

One Response to “Assorted Gems”

  1. hiiiiiii
    i love this drama too, so i try to buy it, i think i m addicted,
    i love it s actors especially kile and his gf.
    byeeee

Leave a Reply

 
