Zanjeer

I’ve been wanting to watch Zanjeer for a while now because of all the cute gifs I was seeing on tumblr.  I finally found a DVD quality upload with English subs, so I decided to check it out. This movie gave me a lot of nostalgia for those old school Bollywood action films. Zanjeer is a remake of the film of the same name, which released in 1973.  Zanjeer (2013) stars Priyanka Chopra and, for the first time in Bollywood cinema, Ram Charan.  It’s an action film that sheds light on the Oil Mafia prevalent in India.  This film was released in two languages: Hindi and Telegu.

Image

Ram Charan plays ACP Vijay Khanna, a cop who’s good at his job, but constantly getting in trouble for not doing things by the book.  After being transferred around numerous times for using rough tactics on criminals, his latest transfer is to Mumbai.   Priyanka Chopra plays Mala, a second generation Indian American.  She comes to India for the first time for her friend’s wedding.  On the way back from the wedding, she witnesses a murder.  A man is lit on fire and killed by members of the Oil Mafia.  Vijay convinces Mala to testify and identify the culprit.  Her cooperation results in the mafia coming after her. Vijay then let’s Mala stay at his place for protection.  Vijay must catch the big boss behind it all and take down his organization.

Zanjeer wasn’t that much of a hit and I can see why.  It doesn’t have much going for it besides it’s cast and the fact that it’s a remake.  Actually, I think the fact that it’s a remake actually hurt the film because people kept comparing it to the original.  I, on the other hand, have not seen the original, so it was a lot more entertaining for me.  Like I said before, it kind of reminded me of a 90s film.  I think it actually takes place in the 90s, so I like how they incorporated that aspect in with the cinematography.  It’s got your corny fighting scenes that were prevalent in 90s action films: The slow motion, over exaggerated, and unrealistic fighting scenes.  It sounds absurd, but hey, it’s all in good fun.  The songs are okay, nothing special.  I only liked Yeh Lamha Tera Mera.

The plot is actually interesting and informative.  I had no clue that Oil Mafia exist in India.  There is very little of the romantic plot. Vijay and Mala just kind of fall in love, but they don’t show much of that development.  The two make a cute couple though.  I’m not really disappointed that we don’t see much of their love story, since the focus of this movie is on the crime part of it.  The whole plot is about taking down the criminal mafia boss and his organization.  There are some pretty great scenes you get to see because of it.  On a side note, the first scene of this movie is shot in Hyderabad, India.  The Hyderabadi part of me was super excited to see that.

Zanjeer is a pretty good movie.  It’s perfect for one of those days where you’re bored and don’t know what to watch.  Check it out if you have the time.

My Rating: (3/5)

~ by misunderst0od on October 10, 2013.

Leave a Reply

 
