Top Asian Dramas of 2015

top 2015 dramas

Now that most 2015 Asian dramas have come to an end, I figured it’s time for me to list my favorite dramas from last year by country.  2015 was a good year for Asian dramas.  It was really difficult to pick just one drama per country, but here it goes.

Korea – Kill Me, Heal Me

killmehealme

Kill Me, Heal Me is a romantic comedy about a rich heir suffering from D.I.D aka Multiple Personality Disorder. Now you may have seen this scenario before, but here’s the catch: He’s got 7 personalities.  A psychiatrist takes him on as a patient and tries to find the root of his problem.  Kill Me, Heal Me is a well rounded drama that hits all the right feelings. Everything connects to each other in the end.  Not to mention, there was a plot twist that threw me off guard and I wanted to bang my head for not figuring it out because I misinterpreted all the signs.  Basically, it is an extremely well written show.

My Rating: (5/5)

Honorable Mentions: I Remember You, Ho Goo’s Love.

Japan -Ouroboros

10500402_498816443590947_2299472852249510310_n
Ouroboros
is a dark revenge drama with an amazing cast.  The live action drama is about two men who are out for revenge against their childhood teacher’s murderer.  The duo work on opposite sides of the law in order to achieve their goal as they pretend not to know one another. Since this is a crime drama, it is more serious, particularly because it deals with the underworld and hidden conspiracies. It had me hooked.

My Rating: (4/5)

Honorable Mentions:   From 5 to 9 (If you’re looking for something light and entertaining, check this out).

China – Lady & Liar

e58d83e98791e5a5b3e8b4bc

A period drama based in 1930’s Shanghai. You’ve probably heard of the synopsis a dozen times.  A missing child gets adopted by some poor man and later finds out she’s actually an heiress.  On her way to reunite with her family, she loses her memories. Then the people around her take advantage of her amnesia.  In this case it’s a mafia boss who’s desperately in love with her (but she wont give him the time of day) and an adoptive evil sister who decides its the perfect time to become rich by stealing her identity. Yep, sounds like a typical crazy drama plot.  What I really loved about this drama was the set, costumes, cinematography, and production. Lady & Liar, while it covers mafia life, is not as dark as you would expect it to be. Sure, the evil characters are evil and do extremely evil things, but I was less traumatized by it. Anyways, I thoroughly enjoyed it. Did I mention it has a fantastic cast?

My Rating: (4/5)

Honorable Mentions: My Sunshine, Cruel Romance

Taiwan – Youth Power

photos_13351_1447828751

Considering I didn’t see much hype about it online, Youth Power is a very underrated drama.  People who have seen and rated it have given high reviews and I am in absolute agreement.  The drama is a refreshing take on the world of politics. The main character, Chen Yi Jun, is thrown into an election campaign.  Despite growing up in politics and her father being a powerful politician, she has no interest in it.  When she is forced to run for election due to her ailing father, her thoughts begin to change.  What I really loved about this drama was that it showed the good side of politics as well as the bad.  A huge portion of this drama focused on the dirty, corrupt side of politics, which I found really interesting. Definitely worth checking out.

My Rating: (4.5/5)

Hong Kong – Limelight Years

limelight-years-de16-s1

Limelight Years is a light hearted drama about the lives of those surrounding a celebrity. Wah Fong Ying was a legendary singer back in the day and plans to throw a reunion concert in order to reconnect with her estranged family. Alongside the singer are Jinny, her newest assistant, and Sean, the ghostwriter in charge of writing her biography. Then there’s the Ben, the old photographer who seems to rub off on her and change her attitude about life.  These characters seem to be connected in more ways than one, and it may not exactly be in a good way. This drama was amusing as it was heartwarming. I enjoyed learning more about the characters and their backstories. I grew attached to them and the whole drama made me smile with glee.  As for the love story, it was between Jinny and Sean, and I wanted to strangle Sean sometimes.  Nonetheless, it was entertaining.

My Rating: (4/5)

Thailand – I Wanna Be Sup’tar (Wannueng Jaa Pben Superstar)

sup-tar-0100

A fun drama about a girl struggling to become famous. When Wan’s family emigrates to England, she stays behind to pursue her dreams as an actress.  With no place to live, she’s been camping out at her old house – that’s already been sold.  Win, a former superstar, ends up buying her house and moves in. He’s returned to Thailand after 5 years and is trying to lay low due to a former scandal he was in. Win allows her to stay in his house in exchange for keeping his secret and ends up helping her with her acting along the way. The housing situation kind of reminded me of the famous Korean drama Full House, yet the drama is pretty different.  This drama is definitely fun, hilarious, and entertaining.  I loved the cast and loved the fact that it didn’t drag much.  It is 26 episodes long, but is well paced and worth watching.

My Rating: (5/5)

Honorable Mentions: Kiss Me (Thai), Ugly Ducking The Series: Perfect Match

Philippines – On The Wings of Love

on2bthe2bwings2bof2blove2bkakao2btalk2b2

An interesting drama that follows the life of Leah, who dreams of coming to America. Due to circumstances, she ends up in a fake marriage with Clark. She needs a green card so she can legally work in the country.  As with any typical forced marriage plot, the couple slowly falls in love.  The drama shows the struggles of what it’s like to live as an immigrant abroad and send money back home to your country.  Mainly what I loved is how accurate this drama is about the struggles of those who come from abroad to work.  It has a very accurate representation of immigrant life.

My Rating: (4/5)

India – A Man’s World

mans-world-web-series-2015-y-films

What happens when a male dominant society switches to a female dominant one? This mini series takes a look at what it’s like to live in a sexist society and why it’s necessary to fight for equality. Kiran is a sexist person living in a man’s world.  He doesn’t understand why women have special laws protecting their rights.  He finds them unnecessary and believes women seem to have a more preferential treatment than men. He wishes for things to be switched around, but he soon finds out that he should have been careful for what he wished for.  A Man’s World is a great feminist mini series about fighting for gender equality and respecting both genders.  Its avante-garde social commentary on Indian society was super refreshing. It’s definitely worth watching, especially since it’s only 4 episodes long.

Watch here

My Rating: (4.5/5)

So there you have it. These are my favorite Asian dramas that aired in 2015. Like I said before, it was really difficult picking just one per country. I know there are a ton of countries not on this list, but I only included countries that I’ve watched from. What were your favorites? Leave them in the comments below.

~ by misunderst0od on February 11, 2016.

Leave a Reply

 
